23 thoughts on “His Quilt

  1. I come from a family that saves everything, makes it into something else or finds it a good home. This quilt is so beautiful! The true essence of an heirloom…a treasure that will keep taking on meaning. Tiny stitches from the hands with love.

      • Oh, God, Geo Sans. I’m so sorry. I had no idea. His name was Geo? My condolences.
        I still think that your son can feel the love.
        Tender {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

      • that’s okay Kozo

        his name wasn’t geo

        ~

        this blog

        is my therapy

        for losing my dad

        my son

        within a 3 month span

        ~

        it was almost 7 years

        but time for the

        healing to start

      • Thank you for sharing your heart, Geo Sans. I believe people come in our world and leave our world at the perfect time to teach us the lessons we need to learn. I also believe that when they leave they are at peace no matter what the age or circumstances. I don’t know if this helps or not. {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

  2. I think these types of quilts are always wonderful, and metaphoric … the fabric of our stories, lives woven together (ok, it’s a quilt, not a woven object, but you get the idea) :-)

  3. Textiles can be so intimate. I have the flag from my mother’s funeral. It’s faded, but still folded into a triangle. One of my memory triangles.

  4. Flying Geese is such a wonderful pattern….and a Beautiful quilt of many colors and memories
    you write the most beautiful poems ..such emotion seems to hold the
    lines together…
    Take Care…
    )0(
    ladyblue

  5. A few years ago here in Ireland those who had still born babies were invited to make a patch.. Each patch was then joined together into a giant quilt. My friend had lost her first child just an hour before a full term normal delivery. Her mum had also lost a child many years before when times were different. Unlike her daughter who took her baby home and spent time with her, her mum had not been allowed to hold her daughter or even bury her in a family plot. Now all those years later she was able to really acknowledge her daughter, and the two patches were sown on the quilt together. Your beautiful post reminded me of those patches.

Leave a Reply

