Yada Yada Yada

25 things about me … blah blah blah

originally written 4 months

before my daughter was born

~

# 1

I was born 2 weeks late

but I was also born early

I was born in the car

on the way to the hospital

~

# 2

when I was around 2 years old

I hugged a puppy to death

~

# 3

I had the best childhood

I was the fifth of seven children

I grew up on a farm

we had tons of cool animals and a big garden

~

# 4

I have always tried to treat everyone as family

it seems to work for me

~

# 5

when I was 3

I watched my mom chop off a chicken’s head

I think she was sending me a message …

“Don’t mess with me”

we ate the chicken that week and it tasted awesome !!!

~

# 6

the first time I ate at kentucky fried chicken

I thought something was wrong

I never saw such small pieces of chicken in my life

~

# 7

food is not a big deal to me anymore

I would be okay eating the same thing everyday

this should disturb me — but it doesn’t

~

# 8

I moved away from home

when my little brother was 9

he turns 30 this year

whenever he’s in one of my dreams

he’s still 9

~

# 9

my wife and I have been together 16 years

we watch the movie “amelie” together every valentine’s day

“young frankenstein” every halloween

~

# 10

the mountains are beautiful

but I don’t like driving in them

I prefer driving in the prairies

~

# 11

my wife and I found out about september 11th (2001) a day later

we were on a

week long hiking trip (west coast trail on vancouver island)

~

# 12

I used to be a perfectionist

I have learned that no one has all the answers

I have also learned it is okay

to ask for help when you need it

~

# 13

I want to be more assertive … but in a positive way

~

# 14

I refuse to be manipulated or exploited

I refuse to let anyone make me feel guilty

ashamed or embarrassed for anything I don’t deserve

~

# 15

I believe we can learn

something from everyone

but only if we are

O P E N

to listening and learning

~

# 16

if I can’t afford something

I won’t buy it

I learned this the hard way

~

# 17

I have learned that you can’t help someone

unless they want to be helped

~

# 18

“maybe” is a valid answer

I think logic is too limiting

the world is bigger than a “yes” or “no” reply

lots of times there isn’t a “right” or “wrong” answer

big questions almost never have a simple solution

~

# 19

I don’t know if school is for everyone

it might be a myth that we need a formal education

a degree to be successful in life

I know a lot of people who are living proof of this

~

# 20

For the past 38 years

I’ve never owned a cell phone

I can’t hear anyone on them

maybe I should get my hearing checked

~

# 21

For 36 years

I chewed my fingernails

I stopped biting them after my dad died

~

# 22

I feel that every single person is a miracle

all life is precious

and we all have a choice

~

# 23

I have faith in people and the future

~

# 24

I want to live life to the fullest

but I am not afraid of death

death is a part of life

I accept that now

~

# 25

everyone looks awesome when they smile

~

My Birthday

my fifth birthday and I am king of the world !!!

26 thoughts on “Yada Yada Yada

  1. Wow!!!!!!! Very interesting and fun. Quite agree with a lot of those, e.g., “maybe” is an answer. We don’t have to know it all. Logic may be conclusive (by the rules of logic), but that doesn’t necessarily make it right.
    Hello Geo. Trailed you from Shards DuBois’ blog.

  2. Now this is a great idea. Maybe once a decade….look you’ve got a head start already. I’d better get going. It could take months.
    How can you be so sure???
    Smiling here…..

  3. Thank you for sharing. A bit of opening the kimono, if you will. As an appreciative reader, the shift from laconic to quasi-verbose augments a sizable space. My perspective, of course. #14, #15 and #23 resonate here and speak well of you. Nice.

  4. Young Frankenstein is a great movie to watch with people who’ve never seen it before … It tells you a good deal about someone, if they sit through it and don’t laugh.

    • cinematically
      I find it fascinating as well
      ~
      sometimes
      I’ve watched without laughing
      fixated
      on other elements
      ~
      okay
      maybe there were a few
      snickers

Leave a Reply

